MY SPICY LIFE

come taste the spice in my life

Election time

First I should explain, I live in the second red-ist state in the union. There is not a chance that my blue vote will matter in the 2012 presidential race. but that’s not going to stop me from pretending. About 25 of my friends and I plan to gather tomorrow night and watch the election results together. We are from a wide variety of backgrounds with both blue and red running through our veins (some with both). It will be a bipartisan party to say the least and I’m very much looking forward to it.

One item I plan to take with me is this electoral coloring map. I love the idea of having coloring time during the result readings. It should go well with the All-American salad, hamburgers and potato salad. (I found the map here.)

Apparently this is a common thing — having a results watching party. I’ve never done it before, but I’ve never really been around non-military either. I find it odd that military personnel don’t really have a desire to celebrate who their new boss will be…or maybe they feel they can’t.  Perhaps it has more to do the fact that the local race should be or is the draw and there isn’t a vested interest in the local race for military personnel. There is the slight possibility that maybe my interest this year lays in the fact that I’ve gotten older…but I’m sure that’s not it.

What do you think? What are you doing tomorrow night?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Election time

  1. I’m watching the results and pulling for an Obama win but I’ll go to bed well before the verdict comes (if it comes tonight). I’m particularly passionate about this election and, for the first time in my life, I staffed phones (twice this weekend) at an election HQ and called people to make sure they vote if they hadn’t already (most had already voted, yay!).

    I’ve often thought “military” people were Republicans almost by default, but many of my military and fellow retired military friends are Democrats and pushing for an Obama win. We’ve had lively discussions at work. The one staunch Republican in my office is from Alabama and is as passionate about this election as I am. So one of us will be happy tomorrow.

  2. Jocelyn on said:

    I’ll be watching the election results too! I do have a vested interest (got notification from FL that they rec’d my ballot! Yay!) in the National Election but I only pay attention to the local elections in the areas that I own property. Although living in MA now there is a hot and heavy local race that I don’t think I’d be able to get away from if I tried! I think the military lives in its own bubble sometimes. And the rest of the time I think we are so drilled that we aren’t allowed to affiliate what we do for a living with politics. So, I just keep telling my folks that if they are going to fight for this country, they better get out there and vote for it! Of course, if they are voting opposite of me, I’m OK if they stay home! 😉

Leave a Reply

