MY SPICY LIFE

come taste the spice in my life

Kayaking in the snow!

A day I will never forget…it started with me regretting the commitment to go kayaking at 6:00 in the morning because I didn’t want to get up.  It quickly turned to “we are going to do what?”  I’m not one to back down from a commitment.  In fact if you know me well you know that I am always busy.  This is partially because I have a “NO” problem and then I don’t want to back down once I say “yes”.  So when the alarm went off that morning, I got up…when I saw the snow falling I made a call.

“Of course I’m still going, you don’t have to go if you don’t want to”, Chelsea said on the other end.

Well, now…I’m not going to turn down an adventure so I got in the car and went to meet her, stopping at Starbucks for pick-me-ups along the way.  Besides it was only snowing a little bit, not even enough to stick.  If it got really bad we would be close enough to turn back fairly easily.

We packed the truck, snowshoes included (because I was worried), and went to meet the rest of the kayaking group.  And wouldn’t you know it there were lots of people who joined us that March morning.  They were ready to go with wet suits and all.  Chelsea and I had our hats and our gloves but really were we going to do this??  Really, in the snow??  On the hour drive up to the put in we ran into something that we thought might change our plans…a snow storm.  I was white out but we kept driving and it eventually stopped as we neared our put in site.

As the boats were prepped, cars and people shuttled the weather was COLD! So cold that it started to snow again as we were putting the boats in the water.  We’re not looking back now…and away we went.  It only snowed for a few minutes and it was a really nice flat water float that ended with the sun shinning, hot chocolate and a great new friend!

Kayaking in the snow!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

